Student Autobiographies

IMG_9477
My name is Heileen, and I’m 18 years old. I was born in Mexico and I migrated to Minnesota when I was 3 years old. Life was hard for me and the language was a struggle. It was difficult to learn and the environment was completely different. But as time passed by I slowly started to get the hang of it and became more comfortable. I love to read and meet cool, chill people with a mentality that expands and likes to explore new and different things. I want to join the Military for 6 years and become a Cop then study to become a Detective. I’m a very calm and chill person and I like to keep to myself a lot, but I’m also a very passionate person with fire in my eyes.

3136

What’s crackin! My name is Ricardo, I am 17 and I am from Los Angeles, California. I moved to St. Paul, Minnesota when I was 3 years old. I like to watch/play football and basketball. When I’m done with high school I plan on moving back to Southern Cali and work with my dad because he owns a landscaping business. My ultimate goal would be to have my own landscaping business. I’ve meet so many new people that came really close to me, most of them are like Family.

IMG_9499

Hello, my name is Khalique Rogers. I was born June 22, 1995. I am 6’3”. I was born in Cook County, more specifically, Evanston, Illinois. My hobbies are reading, basketball, and filmmaking. I am a student at Gordon Parks High School, where I am a Junior. I worked behind the scenes on this project, where I was a film editor. I worked hard on it, so enjoy.

IMG_9436

My name is Taju, and I was born in Ethiopia. I lived in Kenya for 4 years after that. I came to the United States at the age of 12, and I’m now 19. I will be graduating this year, and after graduation I’m planning on going to England to try out for an academy soccer team. I worked on the film project, and I had lots of fun filming it.

Jordan

My name is Jordan Ahrens, I’m 17 years old and I’m junior at Gordon Parks High School. I can relate to the theme of migration because I’m originally from Tacoma, WA, since then I’ve lived in Breckenridge, MN, Wahpeton, ND, Fargo, ND and now I live in Saint Paul, MN. After high school I want to go to college and pursue a career in music. For this project I worked on the website, specifically, I wrote the “About” page. The whole project was a fun experience. In my spare time I text, play basketball, write poems, and hang out with friends. The film I relate to is “Always The New Kid”, because I have moved from school to school throughout my high school years.

Dee

What’s up my name is Dee, and I’m from Atlanta, Georgia. I moved up here two years. When I first moved to Minnesota I stayed with my Nana to help her out with things. Then I moved to St. Paul with my parents so I could start a new life and a new school with new places and new friends. If I hadn’t ever made that change, I would never have met my best friend, Shai. In the future I want to be an entrepreneur. What I like to do is play basketball for fun and hang out with family and friends.

Deshawn

Hi, my name is DeShawn. I’m a senior at Gordon Parks High School. I like to be very active and I love basketball. I like to learn new thing, and I hate being left out on information. I was born in Chicago, Ill. in `93, so I’m 19 now. When I grow up, I want to be a doctor or a Navy Seal Spec. Ops. I love hanging out with friends- playing around. Most of my hobbies involve me and my brother, since we do a lot together. But the best is having friends wiser than me, so I can always learn when not in an educational place. Keep in mind; I’m always up to learn new things. Oh, and I can speak a couple languages.

My name is Enmanuel Cruz, and I like to play video games. The most common games I play are Call of Duty and Halo. I am dreaming of getting into the Major Leagues of Gaming, and I am trying hard. I am from Dominican Republic, and I am bilingual. I speak Spanish and English. During the summer I like to practice my BMX skills on my bike. I love riding my bike. It is very fun. On the Objects of Home project I was the lead editor for the film Always The New Kid.

My name is Essence Jones, and I’m 17 years of age. I’m from Jackson, Mississippi, but was raised in St.Paul, Minnesota. My film didn’t get completed; however, I put a lot of work into designing the website. I’m interested in going to school to be an archeologist, because I have a passion for science. But I am excited to make another film with my class.

IMG_9472

My name is ShaiAnn Larson. More to come….

 

IMG_1326

 

 

My name is DeVonte Miller and I am a 12th grade student. This was my first film experience ever and it was exuberant. I didn’t actually work on the film, but I did the website. This was one of the best experiences of my life working with diffrernt cultures, different attitudes, and different stories. What I like to do with my free time is play basketball and read books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s